My first experience at Coachella was truly life-changing. I have always been a lover of live music, but this beautifully designed music festival really put every other live music concert I have been to to shame. The location of Indio Valley is nestled away in a breath-taking oasis surrounded by palm trees and mountains, I was mesmerized. I have never seen anything quite like it, honestly. The whole spectacle becomes even more amazing at nightfall, during which the festival transforms into a luminescent dreamscape

Apparently, Mother Nature decided to switch things up from the first weekend of cool weather and some rain, with abundant sunshine and heat for our weekend. Not that I was complaining. The palm trees and amazing art installations provided perfect places to rest in the shade. But with bands and DJs playing on five stages all at once, I was definitely not spending a lot of time catching time in the shade. It was not uncommon that I found myself running through crowds of people to catch every performance I planned to see. It is hard to pick my favorites, because every performance was truly amazing and extremely different in their own ways, but I did have some favorite headlining performances including; Florence and the Machine, Radiohead, and Swedish House Mafia.

We’ll start with Swedish House Mafia, which closed down the festival the first day. The lighting and visual effects during their hour and a half set were unlike anything I had ever seen before. Swedish House is a combination of the best DJs in the world (Axwell, Steve Angello, and Sebastian Ingrosso), and their set that night at Coachella proved no different. The lighting created an optical illusion that made the DJs look as if they were in a large neon house that flashed various colors and patterns dictated by the beats and rhythms playing. It was only after the DJs finished their set that the audience realized they were on earth at Coachella.